Cookies, Injuries, & Thanksgiving: Choco-Chip Blueberry Yogurt Oat Cookies

**recipe near the bottom if you want to skip the blog article**

I spent a lot of time baking this weekend with my mother. Apart from my usual prep of meals, pancakes,

and waffles, we made yogurt cookies, banana bread, and these pumpkin date balls.

This is something I never really do, especially not with my mom.

Another odd thing about this weekend was that I didn’t really work out—I did one yoga class on Saturday morning and I just didn’t at ALL on Sunday (which is totally not me).

It wasn’t because I didn’t want to, or because I couldn’t, It was because I needed to take a break.

A break from lifting. Like a real break, not that “break” I took 2 months ago (that is now coming back to bite me in the a$$)

So yes, I made the decision to take a couple of weeks off from Crossfit to let my back injury fully heal.

It was a hard decision to make but a necessary one.
Ever since I started working out, no matter if it was running, the insanity workout home videos, Crossfit, or even yoga, I always, always pushed myself, pushed my limits to the point where it was sometimes more of a mental battle than a physical battle.

But I had to accept that for a few days at least, I would be doing limited exercise.

I started writing this post Monday and have edited it since then. However, I will say this, Monday was tough, like really tough. But Tuesday was worse.

Why? I felt a little lost.

Lost because even if I worked out—ran, swam, did yoga, I’m simply felt like I was just doing an activity; I didn’t feel like push it because then my injury would prevent it or i knew it would do more harm than good.

I felt like I didn’t even care for exercising because it made me feel sad that I couldn’t be my own self during a workout which made me feel like I was loosing a little part of me. And that scared me and saddened me.

So why am I telling you this? And not just writing about the different ways you can eat these yogurt cookies? Because you should be thankful for your body and for the people who love you.

This week was tough and I was sad, but not as sad as I would have been if I didn’t have friends and family who listened to me and gave me a shoulder to cry my frustrations on.

They reminded me that it is just a little bump in the road and while it may feel like a lot right now, it will get better.

I will get better and get back to my crazy SassyFitLatina way.

So since Thanksgiving is this weekend, I felt like it was perfect timing. However, you should be thankful every single day! 

It’s Wednesday and I feel a little better and a little less sad and frustrated. Not going to lie these cookies brighten up my day a little bit too.

So yes, the best thing out of this injury (so far) is that I got to spend time with mama Flores and that she agreed to healthy bake with me!!

Don’t get me wrong I don’t mind indulging but since I’m not really working out, I don’t feel like eating junk.

So we made 3 things, all which turned out very delicious but for this week I’ll be posting the recipe for the Yogurt Oat Choco-Chip Blueberry Cookies we made.

What you need:

-1/3 cup honey

-3/4 cup greek yogurt

-2 tbsp egg whites

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 cup oat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 blueberries

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Instructions:

-Preheat oven to 375F

-Combine honey, yogurt, egg whites and vanilla. et aside

-Combine dry ingredients together and mix it into the wet ingredients.

-Stir in blueberries & chocolate chips

-Drop tablespoons of batter onto a baking sheet lined with foil and sprayed (I like using coconut oil pam 🙂 )

-Bake for 8-10 minutes

I guess the point of this post was not only about the delicious cookie recipe but about life and family.

I would honestly crumble like a shortbread cookie without my mom holding me up.

So, bake some cookies this weekend (whether it is the ones in this post or the Pillsbury ones from the grocery store) and spend some time with your family and friends, after all it is Thanksgiving.

Be grateful for what you have!
-Sassy

Leave a Reply

